won’t you take me to crunchy town?

it’s official, i’ve earned my hippie card: sunday night i made my own granola. it’s always been hard for me to find granola that’s perfect. i’ll find one that has all the ingredients i like (lots of nuts in particular), but then it will have a lot of dried fruit in it, which i really don’t care for. plus much of the granola i’ve seen, even in whole foods, has a great deal of sugar and unhealthy oils.
enter the cookbook super natural cooking, by heidi swanson. lots of excellent recipes, including this grain-ola recipe i’ve adapted to meet my needs. it even originally called for dried fruit and one cup of a kind of nut i don’t like (walnut). so i adjusted accordingly and came up with this version of heidi’s recipe:

grain-ola
4 cups old-fashioned rolled oats
¾ cup unsalted raw sunflower seeds
½ cup raw sliced almonds
½ cup raw chopped pecans
1 ½ cups unsweetened shredded coconut
¾ cups raw mild-flavored honey
¼ cup coconut oil

preheat the oven to 300 ̊f and set aside 2 rimmed baking sheets.

combine the oats, sunflower seeds, almonds, pecans, and coconut in a large bowl. heat the honey and coconut oil in a small saucepan over low heat, whisk to thoroughly combine, then pour over the oat mixture and stir until everything is well coated.

divide the mixture between the baking sheets and spread into a thin layer. bake, stirring every 10 minutes, for about 40 minutes, until toasty golden brown. cool completely, then store in an airtight keeps much better in the freezer).
makes about 10 cups.

i had some with my morning yogurt and berries. and, oh yes, it’s nice and crunchy and semi-sweet and brown, just like me. 🙂

One response to “won’t you take me to crunchy town?

  1. Oooh, yummy! I’m addicted to Sunbelt Granola cereal, but I’ve been thinking about making my own. I might have to try the recipe. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

